Easy tiramisu (serves 4-6)

Good grief, isn’t January BORING? Patronising bloody adverts on TV for weight loss companies trying to make us feel guilty for enjoying the seasonal feast. This week I tweeted my rage at one in particular that suggested mothers with teenage daughters were incapable of bonding or even going shopping with them, unless they rid themselves of their vomit-inducing rolls of fat beforehand (which they can help you with for £6 per week plus the registration fee).

Then there are the magazines crucifying some poor sod in full-page glossy colour just coz she dared to wear her cozzy on the beach. Handy then, that they’ve also printed a dull as cardboard diet plan on the centrefold for any readers feeling the same crushing humiliation coz they’re a similar size to the featured celebrity.

So here’s my response to the diet industry’s January hard sell: TIRAMISU! Shove it in your face, Fat Club! Obviously this is a special treat. It’s not meant to be eaten every night after your weighed out, calorie counted, skin removed, plain boiled chicken breast and steamed greens. But if you fancy a dessert, EAT A FRIGGING DESSERT!

So here it is. I’ve made this so many times. It’s marvellous. I can’t remember where I got the recipe but I specifically wanted a tiramisu that didn’t involve eggs. Not for any dietary reasons. I just cannot be arsed with whisking egg whites. So tedious. Whipping the cream is boring enough. But it just tastes so ruddy good!

Ingredients:

250g mascarpone
1tsp vanilla extract
3tbs Tia Maria
150ml espresso or very strong coffee, cooled
150ml double cream
4tbs icing sugar
16 sponge fingers/madeira loaf cut into 16
70% cocoa chocolate, frozen
Cocoa powder

Method:

Whisk the mascarpone, vanilla, alcohol and 50ml of the coffee until smooth.

In a separate bowl, whisk the cream and icing sugar until thickened then fold in the mascarpone mixture.

Dip the sponge fingers into the remaining coffee and use them to line the bottom of a serving dish.

image

Spoon the mascarpone mixture over the sponge and smooth over. Leave it in the fridge for at least 20 minutes, or even overnight.

image

When you are ready to serve, grate the frozen chocolate over the top and dust with cocoa powder. You could dish it up into portions or you can just eat the entire thing from the bowl with a very large spoon. Preferably during your post-weigh-in walk of shame.

image

image

(L)

Tagged: , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Easy tiramisu (serves 4-6)

  1. tinabakesbread January 17, 2014 at 21:10 Reply

    I do my weigh-in on Wednesday mornings so, I am game for this gorgeous dessert that very evening. You have to live and enjoy. This is THE dessert to indulge with mow and again. Love it.

  2. mandy January 20, 2014 at 07:38 Reply

    Lovely recipe! I thought the weight watchers advert was appalling too. Similar to a woman once saying she was so fat she was unable to run to help her child who fell in the garden – Big as a house I may be if my child was injured I’d RUN!

    • The Pie Patch January 20, 2014 at 08:00 Reply

      Thanks, Mandy! I haven’t seen that one … yet. I was seething when I saw the shopping one. Undermining mothers to make money? Hideous.

  3. Maria @ Feisty Tapas January 20, 2014 at 19:23 Reply

    The only thing I weigh is ingredients. I love your style!

Leave a Reply

