Anglo-Indian roast: the trimmings

The recipe for the spicy saffron leg of lamb can be found here. That was a recipe from the Hairy Bikers’ curry book that my sister bought me for Christmas.

I totally cheated with the starter by going completely shop-bought. I served chapatis, naan breads and poppadoms as well as vegetable samosas, pakoras and onion bhajis. I didn’t even bother making my own raita or mango chutney. They did look pretty on the table though!

image

I served the main course of lamb with my own recipe for bombay roast potatoes, minted peas, honey and cumin carrots as well as some simple cauliflower sprinkled with poppy seeds.

The veggie side dishes are fairly self explanatory. I boiled frozen peas very briefly and drained them before stirring in a good dollop of Colman’s fresh garden mint concentrate and a knob of butter. So easy!

The cauliflower was even easier! Cut into florets, boiled for five minutes or so, drained and sprinkled with poppy seeds. Simple.

The carrots were peeled and cut into fairly large batons. I placed them on a tray inside a large piece of foil. I dusted them with a generous amount of ground cumin and drizzled runny honey all over before tossing them to make sure every carrot had a good coating.

image

Then I sealed the foil and put them in the bottom of the oven at 160 degrees for the last hour of the lamb’s cooking time. They came out nicely steamed but still had a little bite to them.

image

Now the potatoes. I’ve made bombay potatoes before but only lightly fried in a pan. Seeing as this was meant to be an Indian twist on the British Sunday roast,  I wondered whether I could use the same spice mix as a coating for roast potatoes. I think it worked well so here it is.

Ingredients:

3 or 4 large potatoes, peeled (mine were abnormally huge. I only used 3 to feed 6  of us and there were still leftovers! )
3 tbs oil
1tsp grain mustard
1/2 tsp cumin
1 tsp turmeric
1 tsp coriander seeds
1 tsp garam masala
1 tsp chilli powder
1 tsp minced ginger
1 tbs tomato puree
1 tbs tomato ketchup

Method:

Chop the spuds fairly large and par boil them for 12 minutes.

While they are cooking, mix up all the other ingredients in a bowl to form a wet paste.

image

Drain the potatoes really well. For normal roasties at this point, I’d usually return them to the pan with the lid on and rattle them about a bit to fluff them up. I did the same here but I added the spice mix to the pan at the same time. The jiggling helps to coat them in the mixture. Tip them out into a roasting tin. Make sure they are thoroughly covered.

image

No need to add any more oil, as there’s already plenty in the spice mix. I put these in the oven at the same time as the carrrots for the last hour of the lamb’s cooking time. I gave them a bit of a shake and turned them over halfway through. They are a lot darker than normal roast potatoes but I quite like the colour!

image

So those are your side dishes. Easy, eh? You don’t really want anything too complicated when you’re already busy with guests and cooking the rest of the meal. And you don’t want to outshine the meat, which should rightfully be the star of any Sunday roast.

image

(L)

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

