Cookie mix in a jar

This is a genius idea. Sadly not my own but I made dozens of these to put into hampers to give to my family a couple of years ago. I also made extras to give to my eldest daughter’s teachers.

Please allow me to apologise for the lack of photos. I lost most of them when my old phone died.

You will need some jars. While old jam jars and sauce jars are frugal, the neck isn’t always big enough for adding layers. If you are willing to buy jars, I recommend Ikea. I used large Korken jars for the recipe below for £1.80.

Image

COOKLESS COOKIE IN A JAR

Ingredients:

9 oz plain flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon bicarb of soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

4 oz of cooking oats (I use porridge oats)

6 oz of chocolate chips (white or brown or a mixture if you’re feeling adventurous)

4 oz brown sugar (quite sticky-which is good for holding it’s structure in the jar)

4 oz white sugar

4 oz of chopped pecans (rather American, you can leave this out if you prefer and perhaps add the same amount in chocolate chips)

Method:

First: flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt

Second: porridge oats

Third: chocolate chips (only the 6oz, if you have used them instead of nuts, don’t add these yet)

Fourth: brown sugar

Fifth: white sugar

Sixth: chopped pecans or chocolate chips. If these do not fit, you can sacrifice some as they’re additional ingredients.

It’s crucial that you pack each level down really really tight and firmly. This will become easier once you have added the brown sugar. I use the end of a rolling pin, sometimes a rubber spatula to spread it out. It is crucial that the ingredients pack the jar to the top so there is no room for movement ergo the ingredients do not mix.

I used self adhesive labels to write the following instructions on:

“Tip all the dry ingredients into a bowl and mix up. Add an egg, 4oz of butter and a teaspoon of vanilla. Roll into golf ball size balls onto a baking tray, leaving space for spreading either side, and bake for 10 minutes on 180 degrees (gas mark 4)”.

I get around 25 cookies from this mix, depending on how much of the mix I eat as I go along. You can then top the jar in some pretty fabric, or traditionally gingham, tie with some ribbon and add the label.

image

Tagged: , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Cookie mix in a jar

  1. Azelle Martell December 8, 2013 at 20:53 Reply

    I made this today for two Christmas prezzies. I found it really easy to do and the instructions easy to follow. Would highly recommend making these. The only thing I struggled with was the jar size. I looked on the ikea website and of the fat korken jars there were three sizes: 0.5, 1 and 1.8 litres. So I wrongly presumed the 1.8 jar was needed as the instructions said the larger jar and the prices didn’t match the website at all. To cut a long story short I ended up using a 1.5litre jar and it was far too big!! I think a 1litre jar would be more appropriate (same size as the hot chocolate in a jar). Am now racking my brains as to how to fill the rest of the jar! Oops lol xx

    • The Pie Patch December 8, 2013 at 20:57 Reply

      I will alter the listing, thanks for bringing this up (the post was originally written last year!) you could top up with smarties or broken chocolate bits as they can be added to the mix without effecting the end baked product! Good luck I hope they’re lovely!

  2. […] Cookie mix in a jar: for Christmas hampers … and teachers … or just to eat. (thepiepatch.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

