Squash fritters (serves 4)

finished

After the epic beef saga, we all really needed a light meal so I made these lovely little fritters from the veggie section of Save With Jamie. I like this sort of recipe. It’s a basic batter mix that you can adapt to suit.

I will say that they don’t have a particularly strong flavour. Maybe it needed more sage, or a spice of some sort. Perhaps some nutmeg? Or cumin? I made a sweet chilli yoghurt to go with them and that helped to liven them up a bit. Jamie suggests a fried egg but I’d definitely recommend serving them either as a side dish or with another stronger flavour on the plate.

Oh and then there’s the matter of … *shudder* … the cottage cheese. Cottage cheese?! WHY, for the love of doughnuts, would you want to put that in it?! I do not like cottage cheese. I file it in my brain under the same category as lumpy yoghurts. Some things should be smooth. They just should. Because I say so. And it reminds me of the dark days of dieting and being trapped in the demoralising cycle of the diet industry. It’s one of those things they tell you at fat club, isn’t it? “Mmm… if you fancy some cheese but without the calories/fat/guilt, try cottage cheese!” And it’s always a sludgy, lumpy, tasteless disappointment.

But actually in the recipe, it was fine. I couldn’t really taste it or feel the texture of it coz it was cooked in with the mixture. Phew!

Ingredients:

A whole butternut squash

100g self-raising flour

1 egg

150g cottage cheese

1tsp dried sage

Salt and pepper

Oil for cooking

raw squash

ingredients

Method:

My squash was quite small so I used the whole thing. If you’ve got a big’un (fnar fnarrrrr), you will probably only need half. Anyway cut it in half lengthways, scoop out the seeds, stick it on a tray with a drizzle of oil and roast it at 180˚C. Mine took an hour. Your large one might take an hour and a half. You need it to be cooled down for the recipe so you can do this bit in advance, if you’re pushed for time.

cooked squash

When the squash has cooled, scoop out the innards and mash it together with all the other ingredients (except the oil). This is your batter mixture. Again, I did this bit in advance and put it in the fridge until dinner time. If you ask me it’s a tragic waste of the beautiful skin so I ate most of it hot off the tray, rather than throw it away.

mashed

mixture

Heat your oil and dollop heaped tablespoons of the mixture into the pan. My mixture made nine patties. Weird number but there you go. After a few minutes they’ll be crispy and golden on the bottom so flip them over. Easier said than done but give it a go.

patties

I did some courgettes with it and mixed sweet chilli sauce with plain yoghurt to blob on top.

courgettes

And that’s it! A lovely, light dish for if you’ve recently overdosed on meat.

finished

(L)

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Squash fritters (serves 4)

  1. […] Squash fritters (serves 4) (thepiepatch.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] highlight for me and have given me some fresh inspiration for our weekly meat-free dinners. We had squash fritters, hangover noodles, spicy squash and chickpea stew and homemade BBQ baked beans. I found myself […]

Leave a Reply

