Crab and sweetcorn noodle soup (serves 4)

noodle soup

Here’s another trusty recipe using the tinned crab I talked about here.

tins

I’ve also mentioned before in another post how fussy I am about soup. I adore Chinese soup from a takeaway but it costs about £2 or £3 on its own and if you have it delivered you have to spend at least a tenner. I also find takeaway soup a bit gelatinous. I’m not sure what they use to thicken it. Maybe I’m better off not knowing! Anyway, these are the reasons I decided to have a bash at making my own.

This particular soup is so easy and pretty cheap but most of all it is full of flavour. There are no dodgy ingredients, very little fat and you know everything that’s gone into making it. It’s light and fresh and quick to make. As with most soup recipes, it makes enough that there are ample leftovers and it’ll also save you the price of a takeaway.

Ingredients

1 bunch of spring onions, roughly chopped
2 x tins of white crabmeat
1 packet of dried noodles (I used fine egg noodles)
1 small tin of sweetcorn (I always use the type with no added sugar or salt)
2 heaped tsp minced garlic
2 tsp minced ginger
1 tbs sweet chilli sauce
1 tbs soy sauce
1.5 pints of stock (I used chicken but fish or vegetable will work too)
4 tsp sesame oil (for serving)

ingredients

Method

This really is so quick and easy. Soften the spring onions in a little oil (not the sesame oil; that’s for later). Then add the garlic, ginger and drained sweetcorn to the pan and heat through for a couple of minutes.

Pour in the stock and bring to the boil before turning down the heat and reducing to a simmer. At this stage I add my soy sauce and sweet chilli. Now check the taste. Has the broth got enough heat? Enough ginger? Enough garlic? I don’t like things too spicy so by all means add more chilli if you wish. You could use fresh chilli but I don’t tend to buy it often, whereas I always have sweet chilli in my cupboard so it’s always to hand when I want to use it.

stock

Now you need to turn off the heat and add the dry noodles. The ones I buy are packaged in little nests so I just bury them in the broth. The fine egg noodles take about 3 or 4 minutes to soften but check the instructions on whichever sort you have chosen.

dry noodles

Once softened, add your drained crab meat. This is already cooked so it literally just needs heating through at the last minute. If you add it earlier, it’ll break apart and you’ll lose it’s lovely texture.

wet noodles

The final touch is a little drizzle of sesame oil on top after you’ve served it. And that’s it. Done!

noodle soup

7 thoughts on “Crab and sweetcorn noodle soup (serves 4)

  1. L (@Marilynn1982) October 2, 2013 at 20:01 Reply

    Delicious! I make this in our house all the time. I sometimes use tinned creamed sweetcorn instead of ordinary sweetcorn though. It makes the soup a bit thicker (if you like it that way).

  2. Balancing act | thepiepatch October 15, 2013 at 10:26 Reply

    […] salmon fillets with couscous and broccoli • Tuna pasta bake with green beans and garlic bread • Crab and sweetcorn noodle soup with prawn […]

  3. […] SATURDAY: crab and sweetcorn noodle soup […]

  4. […] MONDAY: crab and sweetcorn noodle soup […]

  5. MrsBakesALot October 3, 2014 at 08:10 Reply

    Ooooooo, I love the sound of this. Another soup to add to my list. …promise to try it out soon.

    • The Pie Patch October 3, 2014 at 08:23 Reply

      It’s great coz you can add as much flavour as you like. Crank up the ginger or chilli. Or tone it down. And it’s quick!

Leave a Reply

