Beef and green bean curry (serves 4)

curry

Everyone loves a good curry, don’t they? Part of the staple British diet these days, isn’t it! The cold, dark evenings are drawing in and a curry is warming and satisfying. Takeaways are blooming dear though and packed with fat. Fine as an occasional treat but definitely not a regular meal choice. And actually, I always feel a bit ick the day after a takeaway curry.

We’ve all bought a jar of curry sauce too, I bet. Nothing wrong with that. They’re quick and easy. Cheaper and healthier than a takeaway but hard to know exactly what’s in them unless you scan the ingredients list.

Anyway, I decided I wanted to make my own from scratch. I found it quite hard to get the full, rich flavour of an authentic curry at home. I am no expert in spice blending. I experiment, get it wrong, try again, until I get something worth eating. My family have to endure all the failed attempts, as well as the successes!

I cobbled this recipe together by scouring my recipe books and Google. It’s fairly mild and my two girls demolish it every time but you could add extra chilli if you wish. It’s not quick but the longer cooking time gives the rich flavour you want from a curry.

Ingredients:

1 tbs garam masala
1 tbs curry powder
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp turmeric
1 heaped tsp minced garlic
1 heaped tsp minced ginger
1 onion, roughly chopped
1 tbs grain mustard
1 tin coconut milk
1 pint beef stock
1lb beef skirt, cubed
Green beans, chopped
Mushrooms, quartered (optional)

ingredients

Method:

Gently soften the onion and mushrooms in some oil. Add the garlic and ginger and stir for a couple of minutes.

onions

Add the cubed beef to the pan and brown with the dry spices.

spices

When the spices are sizzling pour over the stock and give it a stir. Bring to the boil, then reduce the heat and simmer for 30 minutes until well reduced.

stock

Add the green beans and coconut milk, stir and leave to simmer for another 20 minutes or so until it’s nicely thickened. I like my curry quite thick but it’s up to you how you have it so keep an eye on it. Finally, stir in the grain mustard and it’s done!

simmer

You can add some fresh coriander at the last second if you like but I can’t stand the stuff. Serve with brown rice, popadoms, naan breads, chapatis or parathas. Whatever extra side dishes you fancy to create that takeaway feeling. Lovely jubbly. Get stuck in. Job’s a good’un.

curry

(L)

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Beef and green bean curry (serves 4)

  1. […] fingers. Not my favourite thing to do. The curry was awesome though. I blogged my curry recipe here. I used the same spices but in this case I used a tin of tomatoes and some stock instead of coconut […]

Leave a Reply

