Lucy’s List – March (week 3)

This week’s meal plan is looking a bit more inspiring than last week. I realised my lack of inspiration was partly linked to eating too much junk. There’s been a lot in the media lately about how much hidden sugar there is in normal everyday convenience foods. I blogged a little bit about my view on it here.

But over the last couple of weeks hidden sugar has been the least of my problems. I think we can all fall into bad habits gradually and before we know it we’re stuck in a food rut that leaves us feeling a bit blurgh. Sluggish. Unhealthy. No energy. That’s been me of late. Too many crappy snacks. Too many sweets. Too much chocolate. Too many desserts. My meals have been ok but it’s all the other stuff in between that’s crept in when I wasn’t paying attention.

This is all the sort of thing I really need to keep a check on. I’ve been pretty open and blogged several times about food issues I’ve had in the past and how they’ll always stay with me. Last week was Eating Disorder Awareness Week so it’s as good a time as any to give myself a little mental check-up. Someone like me needs to be extra careful that this sort of behaviour doesn’t escalate into bingeing or compulsive eating. My skin and energy levels are not the only thing that suffers down this path. I need to think about my self esteem too. What’s been going on lately that means I’m turning towards food I don’t want or need?

Actually this time round I think it’s just normal stresses and small worries that have perhaps built up without me realising. Money worries, friends going through hard times, kids. Normal stuff that plays on my mind but manifests as eating if I’m not conscious of it. Now that I’m aware of this fact I can mentally talk myself through specifics and why it’s okay to feel a bit stressed/tired/worried/annoyed without eating a bag of jelly babies every night.

I realise this may sound totally neurotic to lots of you. Maybe you’re thinking, “Sheesh! Do people really think about food this much?! Just stop eating rubbish and go on a diet for a couple of weeks!” But for me it’s not that simple. Any form of dieting can cause a binge/diet cycle and that’s not somewhere I want to revisit. So this slightly painful, overly analytical approach to the way I eat is how I keep myself happy and healthy. Crocheting in the evenings helps too. It keeps my hands busy, helps me relax, and gives me time alone with my thoughts to sort out how I’m feeling about life.

Anyway, that was a very long-winded way of introducing this week’s meal plan. Lots of veggies, pulses and fish to give me an energy boost and help me to feel a bit healthier.

THURSDAY: spicy butternut squash and bulgar wheat tagine-type thing

FRIDAY: toad-in-the-hole, mash and runner beans

SATURDAY: sweet and sour chicken, sesame prawn toast and brown rice

SUNDAY: kids’ party at Bluewater

MONDAY: salmon pie and broccoli

TUESDAY: lasagne and garlic bread

WEDNESDAY: lamb and aduki bean stew with dumplings

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Lucy’s List – March (week 3)

  1. Mandy Wooding March 13, 2014 at 08:23 Reply

    I love how you write

  2. […] Lucy’s List – March (week 3) […]

  3. tinabakesbread March 14, 2014 at 20:54 Reply

    Great list this week. I love how you write too. I feel like you are just talking to me over a cup of coffee.

    • The Pie Patch March 14, 2014 at 21:07 Reply

      Ooh, put the kettle on then & I’ll get the biscuits! :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 157 other followers

